Skip to content

Social Network Movie

October 17, 2010

Got to go see “The Social Network “ movie (or the facebook film as it is also known) last night and I really enjoyed it.  It was a great story for a movie and if Mr Zuckerberg had concerns for people disliking him, no worries here.  I found the character in the movie to be witty, intelligent, and driven, as well as vindictive, assured and secure.  The last one may come as a surprise but he knows what he is and is comfortable with that.

Facebook is a company that a lot of us (over 500 million) use some more than others and this connection I felt amplified my enjoyment, making me feel like I was part of the story more so than say the original “Wall Street” which I watched the night before.  No stocks here, no connection to the plot.  I signed up for Facebook sometime in 2006, an early’ish adaptor,  even though the name had changed from the Facebook before I came on stream.

The writing of Aaron Sorkin was super with fast dialogue, innuendo and subtle references scattered that made me laugh out loud on several occasions, and it was like watching the first few series of the West Wing again.  If I did have some reservations on the story is the potential for millennial’s in particular to think that it is easy to succeed, which may further cement the common thoughts or the sence of entitlement this demographic has.  Have a read of what a very bitter Paul Carr had to say on TechCrunch in a recent blog posting, and of course the ensuing comments

Reading Douglas Coupland’s brilliant “Generation X” started my research on the demographic breakdown of generational differences from the Boomers, to the Generation Xer’s and now the millennial’s, or sometimes known as Generation Y.  The differences in attitudes and of understanding is fascinating and will form part of my Thesis.  I’m just not sure how I fit in yet.  I still see myself as a young fella’ even if my knees do crack when I get off the couch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 1:31 pm

    Interesting movie that seems to be making waves at the box office. When I hear the 500 million I do however wonder are facebook just spitting out numbers. How many of these 500 million accounts are even active or belong to people who own multiple accounts (look at the recent obsession of role playing and people pretending to be celebrities).

    Do we fit into the facebook generation? I think we may be too old, we can partake but not truly belong.

    One comment from the Empire magazine review of the movie stuck in my head

    “Zuckerberg is from a logged-in, left-out generation that knows little of beauty and even less of feeling.”

    • October 30, 2010 9:12 pm

      Thanks Sean,

      The quote regarding Mr. Zuckerberg is interesting and I am looking further at the generational differences between Baby Boomer’s, Generation X’ers and the Millennial’s. It will be interesting to see what the research says with regard to emotions, and if the character played by Jesse Eisenberg is a match to what science states and what a Mark Zuckerberg cohort would demonstrate.

Leave a Reply

